Home | NHL | New York Islanders tickets

New York Islanders tickets

New York Islanders are a professional ice hockey team based in Uniondale, New York. They are members of the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference of the National Hockey League (NHL). The Islanders are one of three NHL franchises in the New York City metropolitan area along with the New Jersey Devils and the New York Rangers, the latter of whom the Islanders maintain a rivalry known as the Battle of New York. New York Islanders team was founded in 1972 during the 1972–73 NHL season as part of a bid to keep the rival World Hockey Association out of the Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum where the Islanders have played since their founding. The Islanders won four consecutive Stanley Cup championships between 1980 and 1983, one of nine dynasties recognized by the NHL in its history. The future of the team, according to many commentators, depends on the success of the Lighthouse Project development plan, which would include a new arena for the Islanders.

New York Islanders news

New York Islanders ticketsAt the 2008 NHL Entry Draft, the Islanders made two trades to move down from the fifth to the ninth overall pick, with which they selected center Josh Bailey. They also added free agents Mark Streit and Doug Weight. The team fired head coach Ted Nolan later that summer and replaced him with Scott Gordon. Near the trade deadline, Snow traded Mike Comrie and Chris Campoli to the Ottawa Senators in exchange for Dean McAmmond and the San Jose Sharks' first round draft pick in the 2009 NHL Entry Draft and sent captain Bill Guerin to the Pittsburgh Penguins in exchange for a conditional draft pick, which became a third rounder.

The Islanders selected John Tavares first overall in the 2009 NHL Entry Draft. After winning the draft lottery, the Islanders say their ticket sales department has seen a "300% increase in phone calls and e-mail inquiries over last year at this time" and also is "on pace" to renew 90% of its season tickets.

Eight former members of the Islanders have been inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame, seven of whom—Al Arbour, Mike Bossy, Clark Gillies, Denis Potvin, Billy Smith, Bill Torrey and Bryan Trottier—were members of all four Cup winning teams. Pat LaFontaine was the most recent inductee, having been honored in 2003.